About Us

The Mayflower Pilgrims

In 1620, a brave group of 102 men, women and children sailed across the Atlantic on the Mayflower, searching for a life of religious and civil freedom.

These Pilgrims landed in Plymouth harbor, establishing the first permanent European settlement in New England. Only half survived that first difficult winter. Now, nearly 400 years later, from those few survivors, there are now millions of Pilgrim descendants.

In addition to bringing their values and spirit of adventure with them to the New World, the Pilgrims created a heritage of liberty and law by drafting a document of self-government, the Mayflower Compact, which they signed onboard the Mayflower at Provincetown. The Mayflower Compact is considered by many to be a forerunner to the Constitution.

The General Society of Mayflower Descendants

To honor Pilgrim ancestors and to keep their story alive, the General Society of Mayflower Descendants was created in 1897. It is the Society’s goal to join together people who share this heritage and to carry on the memory of our Pilgrim ancestors. Mayflower Society memberships are granted through 54 societies representing all 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Canada, Europe and Australia.

The Nebraska Society of Mayflower Descendants 

The Nebraska Society of Mayflower Descendants was organized May 19, 1923, under authority of a Charter granted by the General Society of Mayflower Descendants dated December 16, 1922 and now has more than 270 members living in Nebraska, across the country and around the world.


2024 Officers

Governor: Kathryn Morrissey, Omaha

Deputy Governor: Cheryl Clark, Elwood

Secretary: Cindy Rademacher, Kearney

Treasurer: Robert Harvey, Omaha

Historian: Marty Beerman, Omaha

Elder: Ann Reinert, Lincoln

Counselor: Rob Laughlin, Omaha

Captain: Steve Hunt, LaVista

Surgeon: Audrey Paulman, M.D., Omaha


2024 Board of Assistants

Stephanie Donsig (2024), Lincoln

Judy Moore (2024), Syracuse

Verla Ringenberg (2024), Lincoln

John Reinert (2025), Lincoln

Jesse Harding (2025), Omaha

Susan Rice (2026), Nehawka

Judy Ekeler (2026), Fremont

Marty Beerman (Past Governor), Omaha



Education: Kathryn Morrissey, Omaha

Junior Members: Vacant

Public Relations: Tom Masters, Lincoln

Membership: Marty Beerman, Omaha

Pilgrim News Editor: Stephanie Donsig, Lincoln

Scholarship: Fawn Horner, Plattsmouth

Scholarship Auction: Cheryl Clark, Elwood


General Society Officers

Deputy Governor General: Gretchen Harvey, Omaha

Assistant General: Kathryn Morrissey, Omaha


Membership Roster

Click here to see a roster of members. Current as of February 29, 2024.


Nebraska Society Constitution


Nebraska Society By-laws


Nebraska Society Governors 1923-Present

Thirty-one governors have led the Nebraska Society since its first members joined in 1923. See the list here.